Summer Reading Review Round Up

Over the last few months I’ve been extremely busy with reading, writing, learning to drive (which is more intense than I thought it would be!), preparing for my last year of University, watching Netflix, and playing video games (okay those last two were maybe things I could have put aside) to really put up any new posts or reviews on this blog. But I’ve read a few books that I feel like I need to put reviews on for. So, in lieu of full, but lacking, reviews of these books, I decided it would be best to put together one post of shorter reviews for them. These won’t go into as much detail as my reviews usually do, but they’ll touch on the main aspects that I want to talk about concerning each book!


 

ShatterMeSHATTER ME by TaherEH Mafi

Genre: Dystopian
Rating: 2.5/5

To be honest, SHATTER ME was a book that I was so eager to read for so long. I’d heard so many amazing things about it, and just hearing the general premise of the plot made me want this book to be amazing. Sadly, I might have hyped myself up too much for this book. As beautiful and poetic as the writing is (and, by the way, the writing is INSANELY FLAWLESS), the plot just really slipped away from me with every passing page. I ended up really disliking all of the characters, finding nothing to be excited for as the story progressed, and increasingly worried about the inevitable love-triangle that I know becomes a focus as the series goes on. All in all, I really cannot fault the writing, but the plot and the characters really brings this book down.

ExtraordinaryMeansEXTRAORDINARY MEANS by Robyn Schneider

Genre: Contemporary
Rating: 4.5/5

The first book I ever reviewed on this site was Robyn Schneider’s THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING, and it was becuase Robyn is one of my favourite writers. The wait for this book was pretty long, but it finally came out at the start of the summer, and I was completely reminded why Robyn is one of my favourite writers. This book is different to TBOE in that it’s written in dual perspective between Lane and Sadie, two teens with incurable cases of TB. They meet (or, rather, re-meet) at Latham House as Lane slowly integrates into Sadie’s group of misfit friends. The romance is pretty cheesy and the underlying threat of the teens’ TB is intense, but this book is just such a feel-good read. I can’t decide if I like it more than I liked TBOE though. And despite it not being perfect, it was a pretty amazing read that I’ll definitely return to one day!

 

SelpHelfSELP-HELF by Miranda Sings

Genre: Crazy Insane Hilarious Comedy
Rating: 5/5

I don’t even know what to say about this book. I don’t usually like YouTuber books, but this one was a must-buy because Miranda Sings (aka Colleen Evans (aka Colleen Ballinger))  is one of the funniest people/characters, and her book was as crazy, ridiculous, and hilarious as I could have ever imagined it to be!

 

YesYES: My Improbable Journey to the Main Event of WrestleMania by Daniel Bryan with Craig Tello

Genre: Autobiography
Rating: 4.5/5

I’ve been a fan of wrestling most of my entire life, and in recent years it’s difficult not to admire a superstar like Daniel Bryan (or, to use his real name, Bryan Danielson). This book is a combined effort between Craig Tello, who narrates the lead-up to WrestleMania 30 (pro-wrestling’s biggest event of the year) where Bryan will be main-evening, and Bryan’s autobiographical recount of his life. For a fan of wrestling, it’s great to read another view of the business, and learn about the behind-the-scenes of this superstar’s rise to the top. While I liked the sections by Tello at the beginning of the chapters, I can see why many people didn’t. They don’t really relate to what Bryan writes about, and they break up the flow between chapters. That being said, I can’t really complain too much about them; they’re short and enjoyable for the most part.

DoveArisingDOVE ARISING by Karen Bao

Genre: Sci-Fi
Rating: 1.5/5

I was so disappointed by this book. I vividly remember being completely confused by Katy Perry’s SuperBowl Half-Time Show when I saw someone retweet a promo for this book, and went on to pre-order it before the game came back from half-time. But when I actually read it, I was so let down. I was expecting a cool, fresh sci-fi set on the moon with a character who didn’t talk much. Phaet’s lack of speaking turned out to be more annoying than original, and the book ended up to be full of clichés that made it so difficult to enjoy. Comparing this to the other sci-fi debut I read this summer (Jenny Martin’s TRACKED), it’s difficult to find anything in this book that I prefer.

THE BLIND WISH by Amber LoughTheBlindWish

Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4/5

You may remember a few months ago I reviewed THE FIRE WISH, the first book in this new series by Amber Lough. THE FIRE WISH is one of my favourite books I read this year, and THE BLIND WISH is a great sequel. I’m not sure if I’d say that this book was better, but honestly that’s just a personal preference. In terms of writing and pacing, THE BLIND WISH is better than it’s predecessor, but I personally just liked the plot of the first book better. The plot in this sequel is still fantastic, with Zayele and Najwa adapting to their new lives Najwa’s life as a Jinni consul in Bagdad, and Zayele’s life as a Jinn learning about her powers in the Cavern. Tensions between the Jinni and the Human’s are ever increasing, despite the fact that the Jinni saved the Humans at the end of THE FIRE WISH, and everything in this book comes to a satisfying, epic ending.


 

Apologies if anyone was expecting me to put up full reviews of any of these books, I just don’t have the time! I’m more than happy to talk about them, so if you want to leave a comment asking me about anything to do with them, feel free!

As always, let me know if there are any books you think I should read, and until next time, happy reading!

MichaelSig

Leave a Reply

