Michael’s 2016 TBR

Last week I wrote a post all about my 7 most anticipated 2016 releases, but I also need to make a point of talking about 7 books that are at the top of my TBR that were released before 2016. Back in January, I wrote a list of 30 books that I’ve got on my shelves that I haven’t read yet and that I’m really eager to get to, and I’m kind of disappointed in myself for only reading about half of them. For next year, I’m going to do something similar, but I’m also going to share 7 books with you guys that I have no excuses not to get to, and I’m going to try to put up a review of all 7 of them throughout the year as I read them, that way if I haven’t read all of them by the end of next year, you can all hold me to account and think up a suitable punishment for me.

pen

So, without further ado, my 2016 To Be Read List:

THE ASK AND THE ANSWER by Patrick Ness

You may remember that I read–and LOVED (hint towards what book will be on my 2015 Favourite’s list in a few days)–the first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy this year, THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO. I swore to myself that I was going to read the second book right away, but never did. It’s been high on my TBR since I read KNIFE waaaaaaay back in May of this year, so as soon as I race through the books I’m reading just now, I’m going to try my hardest to have this read and reviewed by the beginning of February.

THE BONE SEASON by Samantha Shannon

I bought a hardcover copy of this book in Tesco a little over a year ago, where it was shoved at the back of a shelf amongst a pile hastily placed Unofficial Biographies of One Direction and the Kardashians, the reason for it being there that the copy of THE BONE SEASON was ‘damaged’. The ‘damage’ consisted of a small dent and rip in the bottom corner of the front cover. It cost me £1. I’ve heard so many positives about this book–and it’s sequel–so it’s another that I’m hoping to read close to the start of the year!

BEFORE I FALL by Lauren Oliver

I was given this book for Christmas last year, actually, just after I had read Lauren Oliver’s PANIC. I really don’t have a story about this, or any valid excuse for having not read it yet. So, yeah. I’ll get to it ASAP (hopefully)!

THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin

In a flurry of book-buying at the beginning of 2015 I bought the entire Mara Dyer trilogy, having heard that it’s pretty good, and pretty creepy, and makes you think a lot. So I’ve been planning on getting to these books forever (they’re right next to the Chaos Walking books, actually, kind of as if that section of my shelves is a ‘Come On, Michael, Hurry Up And Read Us’ Section), and my goal is to read at least the first book in 2016!

MORE HAPPY THAN NOT by Adam Silvera

When I was in New York over the summer, I bought two books, this being one. I actually read the first few pages just after I finished reading Becky Albertalli’s wonderful 2015 debut SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA. I really like the premise of MORE HAPPY THAN NOT, the fact that it’s a contemporary but also has minor sci-fi elements, and it just sounds like a super interesting read. Honestly, this is one I’m fairly confident I’ll get to soon, but here it is on this list just to make me feel bad about not having got to it yet!

UNWIND by Neal Schusterman

Another Christmas 2014 book. Another one I’m ashamed not to have read yet. A friend on Twitter told me that it’s one of her favourite books. Come on, Michael. Why haven’t you read this yet, you’re better than this.

MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN by Ransom Riggs

My ultimate GET TO THIS BOOK book. I’ve wanted to read this since, literally, 2012. It’s been almost four years. It looks SO INTERESTING. I’ve flicked through it a bunch of times, and the pictures all look so creepy and peculiar (geddit?) and I just, UGH, GET TO IT, MICHAEL.

 


 

And that’s about it. Are there any other books that you love that I haven’t ever mentioned on this blog that I might not have read? Let me know and it might just make its way onto my TBR! And let me know, too, what’s on your TBR for 2016!

MichaelSig

Leave a Reply

