Hello… It’s Me.

It’s been almost two months since I last posted on this blog. My bad.

I don’t really have a good excuse for my sudden silence. I can’t tell you that I’ve been avoiding the internet while I furiously write up my future New York Times Bestseller, or that I’ve been hard at work on coming up with super interesting content for you to read on this blog, because I’ve been procrastinating both of those things in favour of Twitter (follow me @_michaelburns #ShamelessSelfPromotion).

Honestly, I’ve just been reconsidering what I really want to do with this blog. When I first created Michael Reads in 2014 I wanted it to be a Reviews and Discussion site. It took me a while to really get going with things, and then last year when I started trying to stick to a schedule (which was never going to happen, silly Michael for telling people what you’re schedule was) I got lost in trying to read books as fast as I could to post a review every week. Really I was just trying to imitate what I saw some of my friends do, or what some of my favourite book blogs were doing. But the thing is; those people love what they do. They love blogging and reviewing books, and that’s brilliant. Enthusiasm for literature (especially in the YA world) is genuinely one of my favourite things, and something that keeps me wanting to be an author. The problem when I tried to be a ‘book blogger’ is that… I didn’t love it. I love talking about books, but I wasn’t enjoying reviewing. I also don’t enjoy saying bad things about books, so it just felt very repetitive for me to only put up posts saying, “I loved this book. The characters were great. The writing was great. etc.” Some of my favourite posts I’ve made are the ones where I’m just talking (rambling) about things; my Allegiant/Ascendant post, and my ‘Thoughts on Moral Complexity’ post. Those were the ones that I loved writing. My reviews, while I enjoy discussing books, felt more forced than I wanted them to.

So, over the last few months, I’ve just been reading and enjoying it. I’ve been working on my dissertation. I uploaded a short story I wrote for Uni last year to Wattpad. And, sure, I’ve been doing a little work on that future NYT Bestseller. That’s where I’ve been. But what I’m trying to say with this post is that I’m not really sure where this blog is going to go from now. Maybe, if I’m feeling really driven to, I’ll post a review or two. I’ll try to become a little more consistent with content, I just don’t know what that content will be quite yet. But it’ll hopefully be something.

Until then, happy reading!

MichaelSig

 

 

Leave a Reply

