Top 6 Book Covers of All Time

The old saying is true; you can’t judge a book by its cover alone. I’ve read some fantastic books with really poor covers, and I’ve read some dreadful books with great covers. But let’s be honest, everyone loves a beautiful cover, and it can often be a deciding factor on what to buy when we go for a wander around Waterstones (or Barnes and Noble for you folk across the pond).

So today, in honour of the reveal of the glorious cover for WAYFARER by Alex Bracken (sequel to PASSENGER), I’m going to list below my Top 6 Book Covers of ALL TIME.

red-q6. RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard

The crown. The blood. The fact that the crown and the blood is all that it needs to really convey everything about the book. This cover is just great, plain and simple. (And it’s a pretty great book too, if you haven’t yet you should really check it out!)

 Mistborn1 5. The First Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

I have the first 3 books of this series on my shelf but I’ve never read any of them. Why did I buy it? Isn’t it obvious? Just look at the UK covers for these books; they are so, so nice. I’ll admit, I’m a sucker for books with a lot of white on the cover (see also: the UK editions of the Thron e of Glass books), and so these books just make me melt. (The spines also kind of connect, which is another thing about them that makes me super happy.)

(Side-note: I fully intend to read these books soon, I’m just forever intimidated by how big they all are!)

19844. 1984 by George Orwell

This one is a little bit of a cheat, because it’s two different editions of the one book, but I can’t choose my favourite between them (I personally own the one on the left, but have always wanted the one on the right). It’s two classic standard covers that have been updated a little bit to fit the story of 1984. And they both do it perfectly. And I love them both. And looking at them makes me want to re-read 1984. 

3. THE BOOK THIEF by TheBookThiefMarkus Zusak

I just love the simplicity of this cover, the way that it looks like a sheet of old-fashioned paper, with the drawing of the characters. It fits the book so well, from the tone of it to the look and feel of it. There’s not really much else I can say. It’s just a really really nice cover!

NF2. NEVER FADE by Alexandra Bracken

(Hey, look, another glorious Alex Bracken cover!)

I could honestly have picked any of the covers from The Darkest Minds series, but didn’t want this list to be entirely Alex Bracken. NEVER FADE’s cover is my favourite of the series (including Through the Dark, the bind-up of the three novellas). It’s such a departure in tone from the cover of Book 1, and just fits so perfectly with the tone of the story.

Plus, I always laugh when I think back to what Alex said in the video with Christine; I wonder what people just browsing the bookstore would think this book was about when they just saw the cover. Some sort of epic adventure through an icy landscape?

Plus plus, it’s SUPER SHINY in real life. 


Honourable Mentions

 


 

VengeanceRoad_CoverReveal1. VENGEANCE ROAD by Erin Bowman

Were you expecting anything else?

Really, were you?

Okay. You’ve heard me badgering on about this book (and it’s cover) for almost a year now, but bear with me. The book is one of my favourites, and it’s cover is really just… Even now, a year after the cover was revealed, I’m still in awe of it, and still lost for words when I try to describe it. The artist (Teagan White) has gone into such detail in even the smallest parts of the cover, and it all comes together perfectly to compliment the typography of the title. Seriously, A++ cover, 10/10, would recommend.


Let me know what your favourite book covers of all time are!

Leave a Reply

