The Taylor Swift Book Tag

I’m not ashamed of the massive Taylor Swift phase I went through a few years ago. (Fun fact: during my first year of Uni, my flatmates plastered my door with Taylor Swift related pictures and notes and it was glorious.)

That’s why I’m so excited to do this tag that I’ve seen floating around the bookish world for years, where I’m picking a book to go along with fifteen Taylor Swift songs! (Why did I add one to make it fifteen? Because ol’ T-Swizzle has a song called Fifteen and I thought that was a pretty neat thing to do (and also I couldn’t be bothered to make it twenty two…))


1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
We are never, ever, ever getting back togetherrrr

A book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then wanted to break up with.

ShatterMeSHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi

*ducks from the stuff you’re chucking at me* I’m sorry! I pre-emptively thought I loved this series half-way through the first book. It was beautifully written with a really interesting plot… which quickly dissolved into a plot that I lost interest in because the characters started to annoy me and it became too much of a romance-y thing when it didn’t have to be!…. Sorry.

2. Red
Losing him was blue like I’ve never known, missing him was like dark grey all alone… but loving him was red

A book with a red cover.

SIMON VS.simonvs THE HOMO-SAPIENS AGENDA by Becky Albertalli

 It’s a book. It has a red cover. Boom. Done.

3. The Best Day
but I had the best day with you today

A book that makes you feel nostalgic.

ergaonERAGON by Christopher Paolini

The Inheritance Cycle was what really got me into reading when I first read it in 2008. I know, I know, everyone picks Harry Potter for this, and I would have, but it seemed like too obvious an answer. I’ve always liked reading, and I’d read loads of books before ERAGON (Harry Potter included), but I still remember the night I started reading it. I remember the layout of my room, and I remember exactly where I sat to read the opening chapter, and, ugh, just so much nostalgia for when I was first introduced to a life where reading was a priority. The Inheritance Cycle was also the first (and, honestly, only) ‘fandom’ that I’ve ever a part of, and many of the people I met because of that series are still my friends today!

4. Love Story
It’s a love story, baby just say yes

A book with forbidden love.

STsw2AR WARS: ATTACK OF THE CLONES by R.A. Salvatore

Didn’t see that coming, did ya? I won’t get into the whole ‘Star Wars Prequels Suck’ discussion here, but this book fits the question perfectly. Jedi are forbidden to love, but the main thing about Episode 2 (movie & novelisation) is that Anakin falls in love with Padmé and it’s awful and disgusting and forbidden.

5. I Knew You Were Trouble
I knew you were trouble when you walked in, so shame on me now

A book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love.

Ttruthwitch (US)RUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard

I struggled with an answer for this, because I can’t really think of any ‘bad’ characters that I like (on a character-level). Most ‘bad’ characters I like are more in terms of writing and development where I feel like they’re really good as characters and not just stereotypical bad-guys. But in Truthwitch, Aeduan is a bad guy who I thought was really cool (I was a huge fan of the first few Assassin’s Creed games!) and wanted to see him do cool… killing things? Even though he was hunting the two main characters? I don’t know, he was just pretty awesome in a cruel way. (And,*MILD SPOILERS*: he does kind of have his redeeming qualities by the end, right?)

6. Innocent
It’s alright, just wait and see. You’re string of lights are still bright to me. Who you are is not what you’ve been, you’re still an innocent.

A book that someone ruined the ending for.

allegiantALLEGIANT by Veronica Roth

I honestly applaud anyone who wasn’t spoiled for the ending of this book. I had it spoiled for me by someone in the YouTube comments section of a video that had nothing to do with the Divergent series. Seriously. UGH.

7. Everything Has Changed
I just wanna know you better, knkow you better, know you better now

A character from a book who goes through extensive character development.

Am9725419y from AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR by Morgan Matson

This book is one of my absolute favourites, primarily because of the character development that Amy goes through from beginning to end. I don’t want to say too much incase I give away any of the plot (you really should read this book if you haven’t, and going into it fairly blind is the best way to do it!), but that final paragraph is one of my favourite paragraph’s I’ve ever read, and it really sums up how far Amy changed as a person throughout the book.

Honestly, A++++++ book, 10/10, would read again.

8. You Belong With Me
So why can’t you seeeeeee, you belong with me

Your most anticipated book release.

EEmpireofStorms (PlaceholderMPIRE OF STORMS by Sarah J. Maas

The next Throne of Glass book is always my most anticipated release, are you kidding? These books are SO GOOD, and I can’t believe that EoS is going to be the second last. I needs to know what happens next after Aelin [can’t say because spoilers].

9. Forever and Always
It rains in your bedroom, everything is wrong, it rains when you’re here and it rains when you’re gone, I was there when you said forever and always

Your favourite book couple.

Percy and Annabeth from the Percy Japercyjacksonckson & Heroes of Olympus Series’ by Rick Riordan

Come on, those two are the best. We had five books of them as friends before they became a couple. They rock.

10. Come Back, Be Here
I guess you’re in New York today, but I don’t wanna miss you this way

The book you would least like to lend out, for fear of missinVengeanceRoad_CoverRevealg it too much.

My ARC of VENGEANCE ROAD by Erin Bowman

I rarely even let that book out of my sight. It’s the first ever ARC I received, and it’s signed and personalised, and no, no, no you can’t borrow it, go away and buy a copy of it.

11. Teardrops On My Guitar
You’re the reason for the teardrops on my guitar

A book that made you cry a lot.

THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO by Patrick NessKnife

It took me a while to think of an answer for this, and then I remembered what happened on page 350 of The Knife of Never Letting Go and the fact that I was just completely 103% not okay at all.

12. Shake It Off
haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate hate, but i’m just gonna shake, shake, shake it off, shake it off

A book that you love so much, you just shake off the haters.

CITY OF BONCity_of_Bones ES by Cassandra Clare

Even though it’s a popular book series, there are so many people who viciously hate it, but I love it and don’t care what anyone thinks!

13. STAY STAY STAY
Stay Stay Stay, I’ve been loving you for quite some time, time time

TDMA book (or series) that you wish could have gone on forever. 

THE DARKEST MINDS by Alexandra Bracken

Oh, it’s just my favourite. I loved each book in the series so much, and even though it comes to a neatly wrapped up conclusion for the story that had been told across the trilogy, it ends on a fairly open idea in terms of the state of the world world that has been created, and I wish that the story and the characters could just go on and on and on because they’re all my faves.

14. ALL TOO WELL
You call me up again just to break me like a promise, so casually cruel in the name of being honest

A book series that you think should be longer.

The Bran Hambric Series by Kaleb Nationbranhambric

There are only two books in this MG series (so far?), but there honestly should be about a thousand. It’s such a cool, interesting, entertaining story that I read years ago. Kaleb Nation was my favourite YouTuber for a long time, and I remember being such a massive fanboy every time he tweeted me. I read both of these books in under a week (which, for 2011 Michael was a pretty big deal), and Kaleb always spoke about writing the third, but it’s never happened. He’s since released a YA novel, HARKEN (which, come to think of it, also had a promised sequel which has never been seen), but I just need more Bran Hambric books to tie up all the loose ends!

BONUS QUESTION, added by ME!

15. BEGIN AGAIN
I’ve been spending the last eight months thinking all love ever does is break and burn and end, but on a wednesday in a cafe, I watched it begin again

A book that got you out of a reading slump.

THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas

Through the first half of 2014 I was kinToGd of in a massive reading slump, even though I was reading a fair bit. Most of what I was reading was Uni-related books, though, and they were more-or-less all awful. I was bored, and because so many of the books I was reading were making me hate reading, I just didn’t bother picking up many books for fun. Until I picked up THRONE OF GLASS after hearing Alex Bracken praise it a lot on Twitter. I fell in love with the book, and read it in just a few days (and the sequel, CROWN OF MIDNIGHT, in just another few days), and my love of the series really dragged me out of that slump and — I think — made me into the reader that I am today.


Usually I’m supposed to tag people whenever I finish a tag, but this is a pretty old tag that a lot of people have already done, so I’m going to go with the total cop-out thing here and say: if you haven’t done this tag yet and you want to, consider yourself tagged! 

MichaelSig

3 thoughts on “The Taylor Swift Book Tag

Leave a Reply

