British Books Challenge – Update

Remember at the start of the year I made a really impassioned post about how I was going to challenge myself to read 12 books by British writers in 2016 because I always feel like I only exclusively read US authors sometimes? The British Books Challenge still really interests me, but do you want to know how many UK authors I’ve read this year? (I’m almost too ashamed to type this number…)

One.

From the twenty-three books I’ve read so far this year, I’ve read one British author. I read THE BONE SEASON by Samantha Shannon in January (and really liked it!), but have since all-but-neglected any more British authors. So, I’m making this quick post for myself more than anything as a “Get yourself together, Michael!“. I’ve scanned my bookshelf and found eleven different books by British authors (a few are re-reads!), and I’m going to list them here to spur myself on to read them;


THE MINIATURIST by Jessie Burton

WATERSHIP DOWN by Richard Adams

ME BEFORE YOU by Jojo Moyes

ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND by Lewis Carroll

A SPOT OF BOTHER by Mark Haddon

THE BURIED GIANT by Kazuo Ishiguro*

EQUAL RITES by Terry Pratchett 

THE HITCHHIKERS GUIDE TO THE GALAXY by Douglas Adams

THE FEW by Cathy McSporran

CAREER OF EVIL by Robert Galbraith**

HARRY POTTER AND THE ??? by J.K. Rowling
(I’ll decide which one whenever I get around to reading it!)


I doubt I’ll write full reviews of all of these books, since we’ve already established on this blog that reviewing books is something I’ve had troubles with in the past! I’ll update my British Books Challenge page as I read the books, and probably write in a few comments for each, and an update post every month or two to catch you up on how I’m doing! If, for some reason, I don’t keep up with this challenge, I’m challenging you to annoy me about it. Tweet me, send me messages, comment on this post, and pretty much just force me to read these books. 🙂

– Michael

(I can’t get my usual sign-off image to work properly… ugh, this whole thing is a disaster.)

 

*Ishiguro was born in Japan, but is labeled everywhere as a ‘British writer’.
**I know I said I’d read 12 different authors… but I’m just going to count Robert Galrbaith and JK Rowling as separate people. Because it’s my blog and I do what I want. 
Leave a Reply

