Books I Meant to Read in 2016

For the past few years, at the beginning of January, I’ve written out a list of books that I want to read during the year. As the year goes on, I strikethrough the books as I read them, and at the end of every year, I regard the list with a sigh. Despite my best efforts, I always end up forgetting about the list or saying to myself that I’ll have more time later in the year, or just being uninterested in the books by the time I get around to them.

This year I thought I’d share seven of the (many more than seven) books on my 2016 TBR List that I didn’t get around to that I’m most annoyed with myself for not getting to.


mhtnMORE HAPPY THAN NOT
Adam Silvera

This book also belongs on a ‘Books I Meant to Read in 2015’ list. I bought it when I visited New York in summer ’15 and I fully intended on reading it while I was there. I never found time, though, and still haven’t been able to.

askandanswerTHE ASK AND THE ANSWER
Patrick Ness

THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO and I had a very strange but wonderful time together. A minute after I finished that book in 2015 I opened THE ASK AND THE ANSWER to read it, but fell asleep quickly (this was at around 3am!). I never got round to picking it up again, and have been desperate to read it ever since. I somehow never think to pick it up and I hate myself a little for it. Even now I’m thinking about stepping away from the computer to read!

Mistborn1MISTBORN: THE FINAL EMPIRE
Brandon Sanderson

If there’s one book that’s been recommended to me more than any other, it’s MISTBORN. I’ve owned the first three Mistborn books for years now, and despite one attempt at reading the first in 2015, I’ve never got around to reading them. Maybe it’s the intensity of how big they all look on the shelves or the fear of being underwhelmed.

THE LAST STARTHE LAST STAR
Rick Yancey

THE 5TH WAVE: fantastic. THE INFINITE SEA: yeah it was okay. I was excited about THE LAST STAR, the final book in Rick Yancey’s alien-invasion (Or is it? I have no idea what’s going on in this series anymore, THE INFINITE SEA left me all kinds of confused…) trilogy, but by the time it was released I had completely forgotten what happened in book two and was hearing some less-than-impressed reviews, resulting in me being hesitant to pick it up. Even now, though I want to know what happens, I’m reluctant, worried about wasting my time. I still can’t remember the plot of THE INFINITE SEA, and don’t think I want to re-read the whole book to catch up. We’ll see if I ever get around to it.

GLASS SWORD
Victoria Aveyard

I enjoyed RED QUEEN well enough to be excited for this book to come out, but as with a lot of other series, I’ve kind of forgot what happened at the end of the first book. While I’m certain that I’ll read this book in the next few weeks (it’s now sitting on my desk next to me to remind me to read it) before KING’S CAGE comes out, it’s another example of a book I completely meant to read but wasn’t able to because of being far too invested in another series [we’ll talk about that series in another post soon!] and ended up in a slump afterwards, losing my desire to read GLASS SWORD.

SHADEsahdes-of-earth S OF EARTH
Beth Revis

This one is somewhat of a cheat as I’ve already started reading it. I read ACROSS THE UNIVERSE towards the end of 2015 and it quickly became a favourite (of all time? OF. ALL. TIME.), then read A MILLION SUNS early in 2016 and it was everything that a sequel should be. SHADES OF EARTH, however, kept slipping away from me when I tried to read it. Each time I sat down, something came up—finishing University, graduating, other books, slumps—and I never managed to get past 70 or so pages.

torchA TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT
Sabaa Tahir

You might remember that AN EMBER IN THE ASHES was one of my 2015 favourites and that A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT was one of my most anticipated for 2016. I don’t even know what happened. It wasn’t until last month that I actually picked up a copy of the book, but I’ve yet to even open it or plan when to read it. I’m most disappointed in myself with this one—book one was incredible, so much so that I wanted to read it all over again as soon as I finished it, and I spent so long waiting for TORCH, but haven’t been able to find any motivation to read it! Hopefully I’ll get to it early in 2017.


Were there any books that you really wanted to read last year that you ended up not getting around to? Let me know!

signature

 

One thought on “Books I Meant to Read in 2016

  1. Miracle Milli Reads says:

    Hey!

    Nice blog (: I just started mine up and was looking for a few relative friends in the book world! I have a Booktube channel too. Also, There is a giveaway currently going on and I will be posting more as soon as I finish editing a few videos.

    Thanks and I hope you like my blog! :*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

